One of the largest historic residences in Europe

Mannheim Baroque Palace

Bildnis Kurfürst Carl Philipp von der Pfalz, Gemälde von Pierre Gaudréau, Mannheim um 1730, Schloss Mannheim; Foto: Staatliche Schlösser und Gärten Baden-Württemberg, Steffen Hauswirth
The builder of Mannheim

Carl Philipp von der Pfalz

Prince-Elector Carl Philipp von der Pfalz (1661–1742) built one of Europe's largest Baroque palaces in Mannheim. More than concerns about how to finance the century-long project, he was tormented by fears about his successor on the throne of the Electoral Palatinate—until he found a pragmatic solution.

Portrait of Wolfgang von Pfalz-Neuburg, 18th century, now in the ancestral portrait gallery in the Knights' Hall of Mannheim Palace. Image: Staatliche Schlösser und Gärten Baden-Württemberg, Arnim Weischer

A ruler from the Pfalz-Neuburg line.

How did Carl Philipp ascend the throne of the Electoral Palatinate?

Carl Philipp came from the Catholic line of Pfalz-Neuburg and was first the canon of Cologne, Salzburg, Mainz. He proved his worth as a commander in the Turkish Wars and reigned as the imperial vicegerent in Innsbruck as of 1705. In 1716, his brother Johannes Wilhelm, who had ruled his Palatine territory from Düsseldorf, passed away. However, as heir to the throne, Carl Philipp preferred to live in the Electoral Palatinate and first resided in the old ancestral castle of the Palatinate House of Wittelsbach: Heidelberg Palace.

Heidelberg Palace, palace courtyard, painting by Karl Weysser, 1865. Image: Staatliche Schlösser und Gärten Baden-Württemberg, Andrea Rachele

Carl Philipp wanted to move to Mannheim.

Why Mannheim and no longer Heidelberg?

Heidelberg Palace was hardly an ideal seat of government for a Baroque ruler: In the Nine Years' War at the end of the 17th century, the important Renaissance palace was largely destroyed. Proposals for an extensive reconstruction or an entirely new building outright were rejected. Quarreling with the Protestant citizens of the city, the Catholic prince-elector abruptly decided: On April 12, 1720, Carl Philipp decreed that his residence and all court officials would move to nearby Mannheim.

Mannheim Palace and fortification, inlaid image circa 1720, based on an architectural drawing by Jean Clemens Froimon. Image: Staatliche Schlösser und Gärten Baden-Württemberg, Andrea Rachele

The prince-elector planned his palace as a large three-winged building.

What did his new residential palace cost?

Like all rulers in the Baroque era, Carl Philipp planned on a grand scale: His new three-winged residence building was intended to have a 440-meter-long front. But this impressive monumentality had its price. In the 40 years of its construction, 2 million guilders were spent. For purposes of comparison, the annual income of a tailor in Mannheim was about 60 guilders. Whether they wanted to or not, the subjects of the Electoral Palatinate were part of the financing and were forced to pay a steep palace construction tax. The prince-elector himself also pinched some pennies: He exclusively used the furniture and tapestries that had belonged to his dead brother, which were shipped from Düsseldorf.

Portrait of Elisabeth Auguste von Pfalz-Sulzbach as a two-year-old child with her wet nurse, 1723. Image: Staatliche Schlösser und Gärten Baden-Württemberg, Steffen Hauswirth

Elisabeth Auguste: Carl Philipp's oldest granddaughter.

Which worries tortured Carl Philipp the most?

Carl Philipp was married three times, but he only had one child in his first marriage, a daughter. Therefore, his primary political concern was to preserve the Electoral Palatinate for his successors, his three grandchildren. In a testamentary contract from 1724, the Union of the House of Wittelsbach, the respective succession of the Bavarian and Palatinate lines were determined. He brought his only male relative, the young Carl Theodor von Pfalz-Sulzbach, to the Court of Mannheim for education, and married him to his oldest granddaughter, Elisabeth Auguste, in 1742.

TIPP

Visit the loveliest palace ruins in the world: Heidelberg Palace!

Mehr erfahren

Figures
Monuments & functions
Eras & events

Please select a maximum of 5 keywords.

Eine der grössten Residenzen Europas

Barockschloss Mannheim

Der Erbauer von Mannheim

Carl Philipp

von der Pfalz

Kurfürst Carl Philipp von der Pfalz (1661–1742) baute in Mannheim eines der größten barocken Schlösser Europas. Mehr noch als die Sorgen um die Finanzierung des Jahrhundertprojekts quälte ihn die Angst um die Nachfolge auf dem kurpfälzischen Thron – bis er eine pragmatische Lösung fand.

Porträt von Wolfgang von Pfalz-Neuburg, 18. Jahrhundert, heute  in der Ahnengalerie im Rittersaal von Schloss Mannheim; Foto: Staatliche Schlösser und Gärten Baden-Württemberg, Arnim Weischer

Carl Philipp entstammte der Linie Pfalz-Neuburg.

Wie kam Carl Philipp auf den kurpfälzischen Thron?

Carl Philipp entstammte der katholischen Linie Pfalz-Neuburg und war zunächst Domherr von Köln, Salzburg und Mainz. Als Feldherr hatte er sich in den Türkenkriegen bewährt und regierte seit 1705 als kaiserlicher Statthalter in Innsbruck. 1716 starb sein Bruder Johann Wilhelm, der von Düsseldorf aus sein pfälzisches Territorium regiert hatte. Als Erbe des Throns zog Carl Philipp es jedoch vor, in der Kurpfalz zu residieren und bewohnte zunächst das alte Stammschloss der Pfälzer Wittelsbacher: Schloss Heidelberg.

Schloss Heidelberg, Schlosshof, Gemälde von Karl Weysser, 1865; Foto: Staatliche Schlösser und Gärten Baden-Württemberg, Andrea Rachele

Carl Philipp wollte die Verlegung nach Mannheim.

Warum Mannheim und nicht mehr Heidelberg?

Schloss Heidelberg war kein idealer Regierungssitz für einen barocken Herrscher: Im Pfälzischen Erbfolgekrieg Ende des 17. Jahrhunderts war das Renaissance-Schloss weitgehend zerstört worden. Ein größerer Wiederaufbau oder gar ein Neubau wurden verworfen. Querelen mit der evangelischen Bürgerschaft der Stadt ließen den katholischen Kurfürsten abrupt entscheiden: Am 12. April 1720 verfügte Carl Philipp die Verlegung der Residenz und aller Behörden ins nahegelegene Mannheim.

Schloss und Befestigungsanlagen Mannheim, Intarsienbild um 1720  nach einer Ansicht von Jean Clemens Froimon; Foto: Staatliche Schlösser und Gärten Baden-Württemberg, Andrea Rachele

Der Kurfürst plante in ganz großem Stil.

Was kostete sein neues Residenzschloss?

Carl Philipp plante – wie alle Herrscher in der Barockzeit – im ganz großen Stil: Seine neue dreiflügelige Residenz sollte eine 440 Meter lange Schaufront erhalten. Diese beeindruckende Monumentalität hatte ihren Preis. In 40 Jahren Bauzeit wurden 2 Millionen Gulden ausgegeben. Zum Vergleich: Das Jahreseinkommen eines Mannheimer Schneiders betrug rund 60 Gulden. Die kurpfälzischen Untertanen wurden, ob sie wollten oder nicht, an der Finanzierung beteiligt und mit einer hohen Schlossbausteuer belegt.

Bildnis Elisabeth Augusta von Pfalz-Sulzbach als zweijähriges Kind mit Amme, 1723; Foto: Staatliche Schlösser und Gärten Baden-Württemberg, Steffen Hauswirth

Drei Mal verheiratet, aber nur eine Tochter.

Welche Sorge quälte Carl Philipp am meisten?

Carl Philipp war dreimal verheiratet, hatte aber lediglich aus seiner ersten Ehe eine Tochter. Das Hauptanliegen seiner Politik war daher, das Kurfürstentum für seine Nachkommen – seine drei Enkelinnen – zu erhalten. In einem Erbvertrag von 1724 war die gegenseitige Erbfolge der bayerischen und der pfälzischen Linie festgelegt worden. Seinen einzigen männlichen Verwandten, den jungen Carl Theodor von Pfalz-Sulzbach, holte er zur Erziehung an den Mannheimer Hof und vermählte ihn 1742 mit seiner ältesten Enkelin Elisabeth Auguste.

TIPP

Besuchen Sie die schönste Schlossruine der Welt: Schloss Heidelberg!

Mehr erfahren

Persönlichkeiten
Monumente & Funktionen
Epochen & Ereignisse

Bitte wählen Sie maximal 5 Schlagwörter aus.