One of the largest historic residences in Europe

Mannheim Baroque Palace

Fest im Barockschloss Mannheim; Foto: Staatliche Schlösser und Gärten Baden-Württemberg, Niels Schubert
Royal spectacle

The magnificent

wedding

The festivities were one of the largest court celebrations in Mannheim's time as a residence: On January 17, 1742, Carl Theodor von der Pfalz married Elisabeth Auguste, the granddaughter of Prince-Elector Carl Phillip. There are many stories about the magnificent wedding.

Fireworks in front of Mannheim Baroque Palace. Image: Staatliche Schlösser und Gärten Baden-Württemberg, credit unknown

Fireworks in front of Mannheim Palace.

A fiery reception

The grandfather of the bride, Prince-Elector Carl Philipp von der Pfalz, had a weakness for magnificence and spectacle. In 1741, a French ambassador criticized him by saying that, at 80 years of age, he had the taste of a ten-year-old. This was also on display at the wedding: When the Archbishop of Cologne and Prince-Elector Clemens August, who was to wed the couple, arrived in Mannheim, the streets were lit with torches. But due to the many cannon shots, the city was immersed in smoke.

The Knights' Hall in Mannheim Baroque Palace. Image: Staatliche Schlösser und Gärten Baden-Württemberg, Arnim Weischer

A setting for glittering celebrations.

A dance in the Knights' Hall

The eighty-year-old Prince-Elector Carl Phillip could only participate in the wedding from his wheelchair. After the ceremony, there was an opera and a glittering ball in the Knights' Hall at Mannheim. The prince-elector didn't want to miss out on the dancing: He had himself wheeled around in his wheelchair to the beat of a minuet. While "dancing," he was so lively that the wheelchair almost overturned and dumped the monarch on the ground.

Eine der grössten Residenzen Europas

Barockschloss Mannheim

Der Kurfürst feiert

Die prunkvolle

Hochzeit

Die Feierlichkeiten gelten als das größte höfische Fest in Mannheims Zeit als Residenz: Am 17. Januar 1742 heirateten Carl Theodor von der Pfalz und Elisabeth Augusta, die Enkelin des Kurfürsten Carl Philipp. Um die prunkvolle Hochzeit ranken sich viele Geschichten.

Feuerwerk vor dem Barockschloss Mannheim; Foto: Staatliche Schlösser und Gärten Baden-Württemberg, Urheber unbekannt

Feuerwerk vor dem Mannheimer Schloss.

Feuriger Empfang

Der Großvater der Braut, Kurfürst Carl Philipp von der Pfalz, hatte eine Schwäche für Prunk und Spektakel. So spottete ein französischer Botschafter 1741 über ihn, dass er mit 80 Jahren den Geschmack eines Zehnjährigen hätte. Dies machte sich auch bei der Hochzeit bemerkbar: Als der Kölner Erzbischof und Kurfürst Clemens August, der das Paar trauen sollte, in Mannheim eintraf, war die Straße mit Fackeln beleuchtet. Doch durch das heftige Abfeuern von Kanonen versank die Stadt im Rauch.

Rittersaal im Barockschloss Mannheim; Foto: Staatliche Schlösser und Gärten Baden-Württemberg, Arnim Weischer

Schauplatz rauschender Feste.

Tanz im Rittersaal

Der achtzigjährige Kurfürst Carl Philipp konnte nur im Rollstuhl an der Hochzeit teilnehmen. Nach der Trauung gab es eine Opernaufführung und eine rauschende Ballnacht im Mannheimer Rittersaal. Der Kurfürst wollte nicht aufs Tanzen verzichten: Er ließ sich in seinem Rollstuhl zur Musik eines Menuetts herumfahren. Dabei verhielt er sich so temperamentvoll, dass ein Umkippen des Rollstuhls und damit der Sturz des erlauchten Fürsten gerade noch zu verhindern war.